The Northern all-round championship.

The Yamal land greets the new comers with a rainbow of colours. The sun appeares from the clouds and seems to be very close to you - just touch it with your hand. The northern sun has its peculiarities. In spring it's hard to do without dark glasses. The visitors may find it uncomfortable but the local inhabitants rejoice at the coming of spring - the time for hunting, fishing and reindeer grazing is approaching.

Aborigines are fond of the bright colours and transfer the palette of nature to their national clothes. Every native woman is a great expert at needlework. Their embroideries are supposed to bring luck to the men in hunting and fishing.

Dressed in these picturesque clothes, the aborigines came to take part in the parade at the opening of the Tiumen Region championship on the national sports. Yes, the native people are developing their own sports - a kind of limbering-up before the working season.

What are the main "instruments of production" of the natives? Tynzian (lasso), khorei (pole for guiding the deer team), sledges and hatchet. So the chairman of Tiumen Regional Sports Committee Valentin Zuev once - in the end of the 1980s - decided to use these instruments for sport competitions.

Now the Northern all-round championship contains the following disciplines: throwing the hatchet into the distance, national triple jump, throwing lasso on the pole, jumping over the sledges, three-kilometre race carrying a stick. The results are impressing. German Sandrin throws hatchet at 200 metres. Juri Taligin caught the pole with lasso 68 times in succession. Alexander Tasmanov was even entered the Guinness Book of Records - he managed to jump over 820 sledges in a row.

The Northern all-round competition has the specific details of its own. The hatchet should have the weight not less than 350 grams and its length - not less than 50 sm., the handle should be made only of larch, pine or cedar wood. Sometimes the marking of hatches takes more time than the competition itself.

The last championship was held in Beloyarsk. The Purovsky district team won the first place, while the Salekhard team, the former twice champion, this time was only the third.

So the Northern all-round competitions have good future.

Северное многоборье

Едва ступишь на ямальскую землю, оказываешься под радугой красок. Солнце выкатится из-за туч, и, кажется, вот оно - рядом, только рукой дотянись. Северное солнце особенное. На земле здесь по весне без темных очков трудновато бывает - слеза прошибает. Впрочем, это приезжему в тягость, а местному населению вольготно - солнышко припекает, природа пробуждается; значит скоро время основных житейских забот: охоты, рыбалки, выпаса оленей.

Аборигены любят краски, берут их от самой природы, перенося палитру флоры и фауны на национальную одежду. Что ни женщина в чуме, то большая мастерица. Хранительницы домашнего очага даже своими вышивками напутствуют мужчин на удачную охоту и рыбалку.

В таких красочных одеяниях аборигены вышли на парад очередного чемпионата Тюменской области по национальным видам спорта. Да, у "националов" развивается свой вид спорта, что является своего рода разминкой для них перед промысловым сезоном.

Какие у коренного жителя орудия промысла? Тынзян, хорей, нарты, топор. А у председателя Тюменского областного спорткомитета Валентина Зуева семь лет назад возникла идея перенести эти орудия промысла на стадион, дабы сотворить зрелище, очевидцами которого могли стать все желающие, насладиться атмосферой спортивной борьбы. Орудия труда стали спортивными снарядами.

Итак, что такое северное многоборье? Метание топора на дальность, тройной национальный прыжок, метание тынзяна на хорей, прыжки через нарты, бег с палкой на три километра по пересеченной местности. И что же? Герман Сандрин может метнуть топор на 200 метров. Юрий Талигин 68 раз забрасывал тынзян на хорей. А белоярцу Александру Тасьманову вообще принадлежит феноменальный результат, который в Книгу рекордов Гиннеса занесли - 820 нарт перепрыгнул.

У северного многоборья немало тонкостей. Например, вес топора должен быть не менее 350 граммов, общая длина не менее 50 сантиметров, а топорище изготавливается только из березовой, лиственничной, сосновой или кедровой древесины. Иногда маркировка топоров занимает едва ли не больше времени, чем сами соревнования.

Впервые чемпионат Тюменской области проводился в Белоярском.

Пуровский район нынче ходит в лидерах, второй год подряд завоевывая первенство в командном зачете. Сборная Салехарда, которая дважды выигрывала чемпионат, в Белоярске финишировала третьей.

У северного многоборья еще все впереди.