Motor transport.

The motor transport infrastructure in Autonomous District is just at the initial stage of development, and the special attention is paid here to the building of motor roads. At present only 21 of 108 settlements on the territory of YaNAD are connected to the network of motor roads. The roads are to be built in seven district centres to establish transport communication between these and the administrative centre of Autonomous District. The network of basic federal roads is necessary for the further economic development of this region. The total length of federal roads to be built is about 1 500 km.

Till recent time motor roads were built here by the extracting enterprises especially for their own use. A considerable part of the total roads' length of 2400 km belongs to the industrial enterprises. The roads in general use are only 630 km long (12.5% of the total roads' length in Autonomous District), including 23.5 km of federal roads. Apart from these, 3 500 km of ice roads are used in the winter period.

The length of surfaced roads in YaNAD is only 0.1 km per 1000 sq.km of its territory, while the average index in Russia is 26 km/1000 sq.km. The surfaced roads take 78.1% of the total roads' length in Autonomous District (average for Russia - 90%).

An important program "The roads of Yamal" was adopted in YaNAD. It is intended to become a part of the Presidential program "The roads of Russia". One of the main projects of this program - the construction of federal motor road connecting all the towns and large settlements of Autonomous District along the route Salekhard - Nadym - Novy Urengoi - Korochayevo - Pur-Pe - Noyabrsk and going to Tiumen through the territory of Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District. Thus the regional roads network will be connected to the transport system of Russia. All the roads, newly constructed in YaNAD, will have the strategic importance, as they will connect many industrial enterprises, natural resources deposits and settlements of the Far North with the central regions of the country.

The development of motor transport in YaNAD will be rapidly going on in the future. There are projects for the construction of the great transport line Stockholm - Helsinki - St Petersburg - Arkhangelsk - Komi Republic - the Arctic Urals - Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District. Then it will go from Krasnoselkup settlement to Norilsk and Dudinka. The realization of this project opens fantastic prospects not only for YaNAD, as this "horizontal line" wonderfully blends with both strategic programs: "The roads of Yamal" and "The roads of Russia".

Автотранспорт.

В настоящее время дорожному строительству в ЯНАО уделяется большое внимание, так как автомобильный транспорт и его инфраструктура здесь только начинают развиваться. Пока из 108 населенных пунктов, расположенных на территории округа, имеют выход на автомобильные дороги 21. Во всех семи районных центрах требуется построить дороги, которые свяжут их с административным центром округа. Поэтому для развития экономики ЯНАО необходимо создать опорную сеть федеральных автомобильных дорог, которая впоследствии свяжет столицу округа и все основные населенные пункты с транспортной системой страны. В округе необходимо построить еще 1,5 тыс. км дорог федерального значения.

До недавнего времени в округе силами добывающих предприятий строились преимущественно только промысловые и подъездные дороги. Из всех дорог общей протяженностью 2400 км значительная их часть находится в ведомственном подчинении. Дороги общего пользования составляют 630 км (12,5% от общей протяженности автодорог округа), в том числе 23,5 км федеральных автодорог. Кроме того, используется более 3,5 тыс. км зимников.

Протяженность автомобильных дорог с твердым покрытием на 1000 кв. км территории составляет всего 0,1 км при среднем показателе по стране - 26 км. Автодороги с твердым покрытием составляют 78,1% в общей протяженности автомобильных дорог в округе (в среднем по России - 90%).

В настоящее время в ЯНАО принята важная программа "Дороги Ямала", которая станет составной частью в президентской программе "Дороги России". Один из наиболее важных проектов в региональной программе - создание автомагистрали федерального значения, которая соединит все города округа и крупные населенные пункты со столицей округа по маршруту Салехард - Надым - Новый Уренгой - Коротчаево - Пур-Пе - Ноябрьск с последующим выходом через территорию Ханты-Мансийского округа на Тюмень. В итоге будет получен выход ко всей транспортной системе страны. Все создаваемые дороги в округе будут иметь стратегическое значение, так как свяжут многие предприятия, крупные месторождения и населенные пункты ЯНАО со всей страной.

В будущем автомобильный транспорт получит в округе еще большее развитие. Есть планы строительства товарно-транспортного коридора Стокгольм - Хельсинки - Санкт-Петербург - Архангельск - Республика Коми - Полярный Урал - Ямало-Ненецкий округ. И далее от Красноселькупа до Норильска и Дудники. Реализация этого проекта сулит фантастические перспективы не только ЯНАО, так как такая "горизонталь" хорошо вписывается не только в программу "Дороги Ямала", но и в программу "Дороги России".