Survey.

The agriculture of Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District is an under-developed branch of local economy. It takes only 0.6% of total amount of investments and provides only 0.04% of the all-Russian agricultural production. At the same time the agricultural sector of YaNAD economy is rather efficient. Thus, in 1997 the percentage of tractors in good working order was 79% (average for Russia - 62%) and of trucks in good working order - 90% (average for Russia - 63%). The fodder reserves per head of cattle in 1997 in YaNAD was 1.89 tons, while average for Russia - only 0.98 tons per head.

The natural and climatic conditions of this region caused the development first of all of the traditional trades - reindeer breeding, hunting, fishery and fur farming. Mostly the representatives of indigenous population are busy in these trades. The reindeer breeding gives 92% of local agricultural production. Few cattle-breeding farms are working in the valley of Ob river.

In 1996 the total amount of cattle and poultry sold was 8430 tons, milk production - 5031 tons, eggs - 800 thousand, potatoes - 3012 tons, vegetables - 1165 tons.

In the pre-war years fishery was the leading branch of the local economy. The rein breeding as an economic basis of Autonomous District developed in the direction of its products' marketability increasing, the raising of meat and hides procurements amount and the improvement of business indices (grown-up reindeer preservation, young animals rearing, the rise of female deer number and the barrenness decreasing).

The fur procurements were growing even faster - ten times in 1940 comparing with 1931. The first industrial and hunting post - Poluisky - was created in 1934. A year later the 150 muskrats were released on the territory of this post.

An entirely new branch - plant-growing - started to develop in Autonomous District. In 1932 the first sawing of potatoes on 7.5 hectares in the open air and under the glass took place. Potatoes, vegetables and root crops were raised. The achievements of Yamal farmers were shown at the All-Union Agricultural Exhibition.

In the post-war period urgent measures were taken to overcome the economic and social difficulties in the Far North. The fishing industry and hunting companies were re-equipped. Hundreds of fishing, refrigerating and fish-receiving ships were constructed; the overall capacity of refrigerators increased.

The new trade - fur farming - was rapidly developing. Silver foxes, blue foxes and minks were raised in the farms. The total cost of furs procurements in the late 1960s exceeded three million roubles.

The traditional branch of economy - reindeer breeding - became more profitable with the improving of material and technical support and introduction of scientific innovations.

In the present time 12 State farms and new agricultural formations, 49 subsidiary farms of industrial enterprises and 48 private farms are working on the territory of Autonomous District.

The enterprises of public sector - State farms, new agricultural formations and subsidiary farms - in the first quarter of 1997 sold 726 tons of meat products (three times as much as in the corresponding period of 1996) and 506 tons of milk (130%).

The functioning of agricultural economic sector is of much importance to Autonomous District for spiritual and social reasons. Reindeer breeding, fishing and hunting are the traditional trades of indigenous people of the North. The majority of them are busy in this sphere. The traditional trades make the basis of the world outlook, culture and the whole mode of life of Nenets, Khanty, Selkup and Komi peoples.

The natives meet a number of problems in the process of transition to the new market relations. The administration, State Duma and local public organizations of Autonomous District within their competence are trying to solve these problems of aborigines. The construction of new processing enterprises is planned, the existing enterprises are reconstructed and modernized. The authorities try to locate these enterprises in the places, convenient for the native people and organize transport communications. The taxation privileges or exemption of taxes are introduced for the traditional trades. In order to support these enterprises the authorities subsidize the farming and fishing production, supplied to the foodstuffs fund of Autonomous District.

These measures are beginning to produce effect - several dozens of private farms are registered in Autonomous District, the reindeer breeding, fur-farming and hunting enterprises are functioning. Three indigenous communes are working in Purovsky district.

Обзор.

Сельское хозяйство Ямало-Ненецкого автономного округа развито слабо. На его долю приходится лишь 0,6% всех капиталовложений. Доля региона в общероссийском производстве сельскохозяйственной продукции составляет всего 0,04%. Эффективность сельского хозяйства достаточно высокая. Например, в 1997 г. в округе процент исправных тракторов составил 79% (в среднем по России - 62%), процент исправных грузовых автомобилей - 90% (в среднем по России - 63%). В расчете на одну голову крупного скота в округе в 1997 г. приходится 18,9 центнеров кормов, а в среднем по России - 9,8 ц.

В силу природно-климатических условий региона, традиционно наиболее полно представлено в оленеводстве, охоте, рыболовстве и клеточном звероводстве. Доля оленеводства в производстве продукции составляет 92%. В этих отраслях занято в основном местное коренное население. В долине Оби расположены немногочисленные животноводческие хозяйства.

В 1996 г. во всех хозяйствах реализовано скота и птицы - 8430 тонн, произведено молока - 5031 тонна, яиц. - 800 тыс. штук, собрано 3012 тонн картофеля, овощей - 1165 тонн.

В предвоенные годы основной отраслью экономики округа, образованного 10 декабря 1930 года в составе Уральской области, была рыбная промышленность. Оленеводство как базовая отрасль хозяйства развивалась по пути повышения товарности продукции, увеличения заготовок мяса и шкур, повышения деловых показателей (сохранность взрослых оленей, выход молодняка, увеличение маточного поголовья и снижение яловости).

Еще более высокими темпами росли заготовки пушнины - в десять раз с 1931 по 1940 гг. В 1934 г. была организована первая производственно-охотничья станция - Полуйская. В следующем году на ее территории произведен первый выпуск 150 ондатр.

Стала развиваться совершенно новая отрасль - растениеводство. В 1932 г. впервые был произведен посев на 7,5 гектарах открытого грунта и парниках на 80 рам. Выращивался картофель, овощи, кормовые корнеплоды. Достижения растениеводства Ямала демонстрировались на Всесоюзной сельскохозяйственной выставке.

В послевоенные годы были приняты экстренные меры по преодолению экономических и социальных трудностей на Севере. Прежде всего было усилено техническое оснащение рыбной промышленности и охотничьего промысла. Работали сотни промысловых, морозильных и рыбоприемных судов, увеличилась емкость холодильников. Был внедрен кольцевой сбор рыбы.

Быстро развивалась новая отрасль хозяйства - звероводство. На фермах выращивали серебристо-черных лисиц, голубых песцов и норок. Общие заготовки пушнины в конце 60-х гг. превысили три млн. руб. (в новых ценах).

На путь наиболее рентабельной традиционной отрасли стало оленеводство - укрепилась производственно-техническая база, широко использовались достижения науки и техники.

В настоящее время производством сельскохозяйственной продукции в округе занимаются 12 совхозов и новых формирований, 49 подсобных хозяйств промышленных предприятий и организаций, 48 крестьянско-фермерских хозяйств.

Хозяйствами общественного сектора - совхозами, хозяйствами с новыми формами собственности, подсобными хозяйствами промышленных предприятий и организаций реализовано за 1 квартал мясной продукции всех видов - 726 тонн (в три раза больше аналогичного периода 1996 г.), молока - 506 тонн (130%).

Функционирование аграрного сектора экономики важно и по морально-этическим, социальным причинам. Оленеводство, рыболовство, некоторые другие производства - традиционные хозяйства коренного населения, большинство которого занято в сельском хозяйстве. Для ненцев, ханты, селькупов, коми традиционное хозяйство - основа мировоззрения, культуры, всего уклада жизни и бытия.

При переходе к рыночным отношениям коренное население испытывает трудности. Их, в пределах своей компетентности и более, стремятся разрешить окружная администрация и Дума, общественные организации аборигенного населения. Проектируется строительство перерабатывающих предприятий, расширяются и реконструируются действующие. Власти стремятся расположить их там, где это удобно для коренного населения и подтянуть туда транспорт. Предпринимается введение льготного налогообложения или полного освобождения от налогов предприятий традиционных отраслей. В целях поддержки этих предприятий выплачиваются дотации на сельскохозяйственную продукцию и рыбу, реализуемые в окружной продовольственный фонд.

Эти меры начинают давать эффект - в округе зарегистрировано несколько десятков фермерских хозяйств, есть оленеводческие, звероводческие и охотничье-промысловые хозяйства. Работают три общины коренного населения в Пуровском районе.