The state of YaNAD finances.

Considering the finances of YaNAD and comparing it with those of the other Russian regions, one can note that this Autonomous District is one of the most prosperous as far as the financial aspect is concerned. The main index, characterizing the state of finances of the RF member, is the relation of taxation potential (the total sum of taxes collected on the territory of the region) to the expenditures of the local budget. Low value of this index reveals the predisposition to the local budget deficit and the regions dependence on the non-tax sources of income (mainly the external sources), which are often irregular and unstable. Thus, the lower the relation of taxation potential to the expenditures, the lower is the ability of the local authorities to meet the financial obligations to the investors.

In 1996 Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District was among 9 RF members, whose index of local expenditures provision by the local taxes exceeded the value of 1.5. So it entered the group of leading donors of Russia after Moscow, Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District, Samara, Nizhny Novgorod, Perm and Sverdlovsk Regions. The index of YaNAD was 1.63, which substantially surpassed the average level in Russian Federation 1.38.

One more important index is the volume of collected taxes per head of the population. As a rule this index is especially high in the oil and gas extracting territories, financial and banking centres and some of the industrially developed regions. The taxation potential is comparatively small in agricultural and non-industrialized regions. The index of collected taxes per head of the population correlates with the ability of the local authorities to meet the financial obligations to the investors. In this case Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District is again among the best in Russia. The relation of the collected taxes per head of the population in YaNAD to the corresponding average index in Russia is 7.94 (the second place in Russia after Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District). For comparison we may show this index values for Moscow 3.39, and St Petersburg 1.11. Of course the low population density in the northern regions should be taken into consideration, but such a marked superiority of YaNAD is in any way very instructive. At present over 60% of federal budget revenue return comes from ten members of Federation, while the total population of these regions is only 28% of the population of Russia. Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District is one of the main budget-forming regions of RF.

The main budget-forming regions of Russia

Member of Russian federation

Percentage of the total population of Russia, %

Percentage of the federal budget revenue in 1996, %

 

Yamalo-Nenetsky AD

Moscow

Khanty-Mansi AD

Moscow Region

St Petersburg

Sverdlovsk Region

Samara Region

Nizhny Novgorod Region

Perm Region

Krasnodar region

Total for 10 regions

 

 

0,3

5,9

0,9

4,5

3,3

3,2

2,2

2,5

2,0

3,3

60,7

 

2,2

27

8,9

5,2

4,2

3,8

3,2

2,6

2,0

1,7

Source: Business climate in the regions of Russia. Moscow, 1997.

The state of finances of the member of RF may be as well illustrated by the difference (balance) between the sum of taxes, transferred from the region to the federal budget, and the amount of federal financial assistance to this region per head of the population. The region with positive balance is classified as donor, and that with positive balance as recipient.

Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District in 1996 (as well as in the previous years) had positive balance of finance transference regioncentre with excess of 9 767 roubles per head of the population (this index is higher only in the case of Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District 14 320 roubles per head).

The balance of finance transference regioncentre of RF members, emitting bonds

Member of Russian Federation

Transference balance,

Thousand roubles per head

Yamalo-Nenetsky AD

Moscow

St Petersburg

Yaroslavl Region

Tatarstan Republic

Volgograd region

Orenburg Region

Sverdlovsk Region

Cheliabinsk Region

Novosibirsk Region

Sakha Republic (Yakutia)

Average for RF

9767

5973

1565

1239

529

645

778

1475

761

816

- 480

1086

Source: Business climate in the regions of Russia. Moscow, 1997.

The above information makes it possible to consider Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous District one of the most successful regions of Russia. The majority of special indexes show that the budget sphere condition of Autonomous District is quite favourable when comparing with other members of RF. It is safe to say that, with other conditions being equal, the administration of YaNAD has greater potentialities for its obligations discharging, than most of the other RF members.

Рассматривая состояние государственных финансов Ямало-Ненецкого автономного округа в сравнении с другими субъектами Российской Федерации, можно заметить, что данный регион в этом отношении - один из наиболее благополучных. Важнейшим показателем, характеризующим состояние государственных финансов субъекта Федерации, считается обеспеченность бюджетных расходов собственным налоговым потенциалом, т.е. соотношение между налоговым потенциалом региона и расходами местного бюджета (под налоговым потенциалом в данном случае понимается общая сумма налогов, собранных на территории субъекта Федерации). Низкая обеспеченность бюджетных расходов собственным налоговым потенциалом в регионе свидетельствует о предрасположенности к дефициту местного бюджета, сильной зависимости финансового состояния от неналоговых (в том числе внешних) источников дохода, поступления из которых зачастую отличаются крайней нестабильностью. Естественно, по мере снижения обеспеченности бюджетных расходов собственным налоговым потенциалом снижается и вероятность выполнения местными властями своих обязательств перед инвесторами.

По итогам 1996 г. Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ входил в число 9 субъектов РФ, показатель обеспеченности бюджетных расходов собственным налоговым потенциалом которых превышал 1,5, уступая при этом лишь таким безусловным лидерам, как Москва, Ханты-Мансийский АО, Самарская, Нижегородская, Пермская и Свердловская области. Показатель обеспеченности бюджетных расходов собственным налоговым потенциалом автономного округа равнялся 1,63, значительно превышая средний общероссийский уровень бюджетной обеспеченности субъектов Федерации - 1,38.

Еще одним важным параметром является показатель объема налоговых поступлений на душу населения. Как правило, повышенный объем сбора налогов на душу населения характерен для нефтегазодобывающих регионов, финансово-банковских центров и отдельных индустриально развитых территорий. Низкий налоговый потенциал имеют регионы с сельскохозяйственной специализацией и слабой производственной базой. Показатель налоговых поступлений на душу населения напрямую связан с возможностями местных властей выполнять свои обязательства перед инвесторами. В этом отношении Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ можно считать одним из наиболее благополучных в России. Отношение показателя сбора налогов на душу населения в округе к среднему значению по РФ составляет 7,94 (2-е место в России после Ханты-Мансийского АО). Для сравнения: аналогичный показатель для Москвы составляет 3,39 и Санкт-Петербурга - 1,11. Естественно, при рассмотрении данного показателя следует учитывать низкую плотность населения в северных регионах России, однако столь явное преимущество Ямало-Ненецкого округа нельзя недооценивать. Это подтверждается и тем, что в настоящее время более 60% налоговых доходов федерального бюджета поступает от десяти субъектов Федерации. При этом численность населения, проживающего в этих регионах, составляет 28% общей численности населения России. В числе крупнейших бюджетоформирующих регионов России - и Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ.

 

Крупнейшие бюджетоформирующие районы России

Субъект Российской Федерации

Доля в численности населения России, %

Доля в налоговых доходах Федерального бюджета в 1996 г., %

 

Ямало-Ненецкий АО

Москва

Ханты-Мансийский АО

Московская область

Санкт-Петербург

Свердловская область

Самарская область

Нижегородская область

Пермская область

Краснодарский край

Всего по 10 регионам

 

 

0,3

5,9

0,9

4,5

3,3

3,2

2,2

2,5

2,0

3,3

60,7

 

2,2

27

8,9

5,2

4,2

3,8

3,2

2,6

2,0

1,7

Источник. Предпринимательский климат регионов России. М.: Начала-Пресс, 1997 г.

 

Показателем финансового состояния субъекта Федерации также служит разность (баланс) между суммой налогов, перечисленных данной территорией в федеральный бюджет, и объемом оказанной региональным властям финансовой помощи в расчете на душу населения. Регион с положительным балансом относится к группе "доноров" федерального бюджета, с отрицательным - к группе "реципиентов".

Для Ямало-Ненецкого автономного округа в 1996 г. (так же как и в предыдущие годы) был характерен положительный баланс финансовых потоков "регион - центр" - сальдо составило 9767 тыс. руб. на человека (более высокий показатель имеет только Ханты-Мансийский АО -14320 тыс. руб. на человека).

 

Условный баланс финансовых потоков “регион-центр” для субъектов РФ — эмитентов долговых обязательств

Субъект Российской Федерации

Баланс финансовых потоков,

тыс. руб. на человека

Ямало-Ненецкий АО

Москва

Санкт-Петербург

Ярославская область

Республика Татарстан

Волгоградская область

Оренбургская область

Свердловская область

Челябинская область

Новосибирская область

Республика Саха (Якутия)

В среднем по РФ

9767

5973

1565

1239

529

645

778

1475

761

816

- 480

1086

Источник. Предпринимательский климат регионов России. М.: Начала-Пресс, 1997 г

 

Все вышеизложенное позволяет считать Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ одним из наиболее благополучных регионов в России. По большинству основных показателей состояние бюджетной сферы округа гораздо более предпочтительно по сравнению с другими субъектами Российской Федерации. С уверенностью можно говорить, что администрация Ямало-Ненецкого автономного округа при прочих равных условиях располагает более широкими возможностями для выполнения своих обязательств перед потенциальными инвесторами, чем многие субъекты РФ.