Activities.

The principal directions of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" activities are as follows:

- extraction of oil, gas and other raw materials and their sales on the territory of Russia and abroad;

- creation of technological and supplying infrastructures in the oil industry complex on the territory of Russian Federation and abroad, taking part in the organization and functioning of oil industry and adjoining industries.

The number of employees by January 1, 1997, - 14 666.

The professional consultants:

Depositary - Specialized registrar "Pur-A" company (Gubkinsky town)

Financial audit - "Price Waterhouse" (Moscow).

Audit of oil and gas reserves - Oilfield Production Consultants LTD (OPC LTD).

The tendencies of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" oil extraction differ from the general tendencies in Russia. The decrease of production in Russian oil industry started in 1988, while "Rosneft-Purneftegas" company's production output was stable up to 1991; later the rates of its decreasing were lower than the average rates in Tiumen Region. In 1996 "Purneft" produced 8.1 million tons - 1,4% higher comparing with the level of 1995.

But the company still is not planning the rise of production output. The optimum output of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" is estimated at 6.5 million tons/year.

The large part of the extracted oil "Rosneft-Purneftegas" supplies to the Russian market; in 1996 it was 69.7% of total output - slightly less than in 1995.

Privatization.

As in the majority of Russian oil companies, the privatization of joint-stock company "Rosneft-Purneftegas" was carried out according to the first variant of privileges. Its stock (4 454 641 thousand roubles) was divided into 3 340 981 ordinary and 1 113 660 preference shares with nominal cost of 1000 roubles each. The issue was registered by the Committee of Finances of YaNAD administration (№ 90-1п-31 of February 9, 1994).

As a result of cheque auction (April 19, 1995) the shares were divided with the coefficient 25; the number of shares increased and their nominal cost diminished to 40 roubles each.

The largest shareholders, controlling over 10% each, are "Rosneft" company and CS First Boston.

Among the big Russian privatized companies "Rosneft-Rurneftegas" has one of the largest shares of foreign holders - by February 25, 1997, the foreign companies possessed 48.05% of all preference shares. The main shareholder is "Rosneft" company, which has the controlling interest (50.7%). The body of company's employees has 9.4% of stock - it is a third of its share in 1993.

"Rosneft-Purneftegas" is diversifying its activities and carries out an active investment policy, holding shares in other enterprises. This direction of company's activities brings it considerable profit.

Apart from these, two joint ventures are organized on the basis of "Rosnrft-Purgas": - "Geoilbent" together with the US company Oil & Gas Co, intended to put into operation the idle oil wells and to introduce the new method of strata hydraulic ripping in the North-Gubkinsky and Prieklonovsky fields;

- "Fur River" company together with "Royal Catch Shell", intended for the development of Komsomolsky oil-and-condensate field.

The shares of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" were presented for sale in the first half of 1994 and immediately became very popular.

The high liquidity and dynamism of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" shares' market of makes these securities attractive for the speculative operations.

According to the market valuation of the ordinary shares of "Rosneft-Purneftegas", they are comparable with the securities of the other oil-extracting companies. By April 11, 1997, the ordinary shares of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" had one of the highest indices P/E.

Though the results of the years work are not yet known to all of the market operators, the high market valuation of these securities is by no means accidental, as it is backed by a number of positive factors.

First, the campaign of the securities' presentation on the Russian and international markets was a success due to its perfect organization.

Second, it was supported by "CS First Boston" company, which is a large shareholder of "Rosneft-Purneftegas" and at the same time a prominent market operator.

Third, the enterprise showed good production activity and oil quality indices.

Основные виды деятельности АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз"

- добыча нефти, газа, иных полезных ископаемых и их реализация внутри страны и за рубежом;

- создание технологической и сбытовой инфраструктуры в нефтедобывающем комплексе на территории Российской Федерации и за рубежом, участие в организации и функционировании производств нефтяной и связанных с ней отраслей.

Численность работников на 01.01.97 г. - 14666 человек.

Профессиональные консультанты:

Реестродержатель (депозитарий) - Специализированный регистратор ЗАО “Пур-А” (г. Губкинский).

Финансовый аудит - Price Waterhouse (Москва).

Аудит запасов нефти и газа - Oilfield Production Consultants LTD (ОРС LTD).

Тенденции в добыче нефти АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" несколько отличаются от общероссийских. Если спад производства в нефтяной отрасли начался в 1988 г., то в Пурнефтегазе - только с 1991 г., причем темпы падения были ниже, чем по Тюменскому региону. В 1996 г. уровень добычи нефти составил 8,1 млн. тонн, это на 1,4% больше уровня прошлого года.

Однако в планах компании увеличение производства пока не планируется. У АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" такой оптимальный объем производства на сегодня составляет 6,5 млн. тонн в год.

Большую часть нефти АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" реализует на внутреннем рынке, в 1996 году — 69,7%, что несколько меньше, чем в предыдущем.

Акционирование

Как и большинство предприятий отрасли, АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" акционировалось по первому варианту льгот. Объявленный уставный капитал компании был равен 4454641 тыс. руб. и разделен на 3340981 обыкновенных и 1113 660 привилегированных акций номинальной стоимостью 1000 руб. Эмиссия зарегистрирована Комитетом финансов администрации Ямало-Ненецкого округа (№ 90-1п-31 от 9 февраля 1994 г.).

По результатам чекового аукциона 19.04.95 г. было проведено дробление акций с коэффициентом 25; сейчас номинал акций составляет 40 руб., а их число соответственно увеличилось.

Наиболее крупными акционерами, имеющими более 10% акций, являются ПК “Роснефть” и CS First Boston.

Среди крупных российских эмитентов компания имеет одну из самых больших долей иностранных акционеров, причем по состоянию на 25.02.97 г. иностранным юридическим лицам принадлежит 48,05% привилегированных акций. Самым крупным акционером является “Роснефть”, ей принадлежит контрольный пакет обыкновенных акций общества (50,7%). Трудовому коллективу принадлежит 9,43% уставного капитала, что почти в 3 раза ниже уровня 1993 г.

Диверсифицируя свою основную деятельность, АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" проводит активную инвестиционную политику, в том числе через долевое участие в других предприятиях и доходы компании от этой деятельности достаточно велики.

Кроме того, на базе АО Роснефть "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" образовано два совместных предприятия: СП “Геойлбент” с американской компанией Оil & Gas Со с целью ввода в действие простаивающих скважин и внедрения методов гидроразрыва пластов на Северо-Губкинском и Приеклоновском месторождениях и СП Fur River с целью разработки Комсомольского нефтеконденсатного месторождения совместно с компанией Royal Catch Shell.

Акции "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаза" начали продавать в первой половине 1994 г. и они сразу стали одними из наиболее популярных.

Рынок акций АО "Роснефть-Пурнефтегаз" достаточно динамичен. Высокая ликвидность и динамичность этих бумаг делает их достаточно привлекательными для спекуляции..

По своей рыночной оценке обыкновенные акции Пурнефтегаза находятся на достаточно высоком уровне и сопоставимы с другими известными предприятиями нефтедобычи. На 11.04.97 г. рынок оценивает эти бумаги очень высоко: показатель Р/Е - один из самых высоких.

Возможно, еще не всем участникам рынка известны результаты года, но, на наш взгляд, такая высокая рыночная оценка этих бумаг не случайна и объясняется целым рядом положительных факторов.

Во-пeрвых, это прекрасно организованная кампания вывода ценных бумаг на российский и западный фондовый рынки.

Во-вторых, немалую роль в поддержании рынка играет CS First Boston, который является крупным акционером и одновременно крупным оператором на рынке.

В-третьих, предприятие имеет достаточно хорошие производственные показатели и качественные характеристики нефти.